The research is undertaken by a team of researchers assisted by an urban design advisory team, with Professor Mark Dyer in the role as project director. Project partners include Opus Research (Wellington), Napier City Council and Christchurch City Council.

Mark Dyer
School of Engineering, University of Waikato

Professor Mark Dyer is the Dean of Engineering at the University of Waikato. He previously led the TrinityHaus research centre for urban design. He chairs the European research network entitled People Friendly Cities in a Data Rich World funded by COST Based on the last ten years of research into collaborative urban design and public engagement.

Research Team

Kate Mackness
Environmental Planning, University of Waikato

Kate Mackness is full member of the New Zealand Planning Institute and member of the Resource Management Law Association. Her research interests include urban planning, spatial planning, planning frameworks and policy development. Local government is also an area of interest, as is politics and social housing.

Shaoqun Wu
Computer Science Department, University of Waikato

Dr Shaoqun Wu’s research interests include computer-assisted language learning, mobile language learning, supporting language learning in MOOCs, digital libraries, natural language processing, and computer science education.

Annika Hinze
Computer Science Department, University of Waikato

Associate Professor Annika Hinze is head of the ISDB research group at Waikato. Her research expertise includes mobile location-based systems, semantic text analysis,  digital libraries, and pattern recognition in streaming data.

Tomas Garcia-Ferrari
Computer Science Department, University of Waikato

Tomas Garcia-Ferrari’s research interest is in making the Internet of Things (IoT) accessible. He is an expert in design and works as a professional Design consultant for companies and institutions in Latin America, Europe and New Zealand.

Rachel Dyer
Urban Planner, University of Waikato

Rachel Dyer is a Research Officer with over 5+ years of experience as a Planner in UK government. Licentiate member of the Royal Town Planning Institute. Her professional experience to-date, in  practice and academia, is borne from a long-standing interest in participatory practices within spatial planning and urban design.

Research Assistants

Jordan Wilson

Rebekah Wilkins

Iman Sayah (January to March 2018)

Advisory Team

Natasha Carswell (Napier City Council) – Sustainable Development
Richard Munneke (Napier City Council) – Town Planning
Belinda Sleight (University of Waikato) – Research and Enterprise
Tony Moore (Christchurch City Council) – Principal Advisor
Mike Gillooly (Christchurch City Council) – Town Planner
Professor Sarah Jane Tiakiwai (University of Waikato, NZ) – Maori and Indigenous Cultures